The Unlikely Adventures of Miss Hyla Bibbit

…a small frog in a big world…

Mrs. Moppet June 29, 2014

-For Nick-

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Good morning, Miss Bibbit!”
“Good morning, Durwood!”
“Got some mail for you. No packages today!”
“That’s alright, I wasn’t expecting any today. Thank you!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“I love my job!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Hmm…fan letter, junk mail, pen pal….”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Who the heck is ‘Mrs. Moppet’?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“I bet Durwood Chestnut mixed up the mail again! Silly postman!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Hello, Miss Bibbit! What brings you here?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Hello Pansy! I found this letter with mine, but it doesn’t belong to me.”
“Oh dear, that is a conundrum!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Well, Durwood is still on his rounds and I have a new batch to record and sort….”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“I suppose I could deliver it myself. It’s a nice day for a walk anyways. I’m curious about this ‘Mrs. Moppet’, too!”
“You’re a gem, Hyla! I’ll have one of the children send over something tonight as an apology and ‘thank you’!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Well, this is the place…”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Hello, can I help you?”
*GASP*
“Another froggy!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“…and that’s how I came to Sycamore Springs.”
“Wow! it must be exciting to have a sea captain for a husband!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Oh, very! We’ve been to so many places! But it does get lonely when he’s out to sea.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Don’t worry, Mrs. Moppet, that’s what friends are for!”

Behind the Scenes:
One weekend my friend Nick was staying with us and noticed a Sylvanian City magnet on our fridge. While he knew vaguely about Miss Bibbit, he still wasn’t too hip on what/who she was. He pointed to it and asked my boyfriend and our roommate, “Is that that Mrs. Moppet thing?”. The story was eventually relayed to me and this tale popped into my head.

This is for you, Nick.
-LadyB

 

6 Responses to “Mrs. Moppet”

  1. Love this Froggy story! Durwood Chestnut is just an absent-minded guy! Mrs. Moppet’s tea set is so delicate :)

    • missbibbit Says:

      Thank you!
      The original bio for the Chestnuts say they’re crazy, but I like absent-minded!
      The tea set was a “gift forward” from the first Traveling Sylvanian event!

  2. Aranera Says:

    Love the mini buns and cupcakes Mrs Moppet and Miss Bibbit are eating :-)
    Also, Mrs Moppet’s dress is very sweet. Is she an adult figure or a child?

    • missbibbit Says:

      Thanks!
      They are actually doughnuts, part of a trade I did with bbqweasel (who made them!). I’m going to post about that trade in a few days.

      Mrs. Moppet was generously donated by a member on the old board (whose name I have shamefully forgot :S). She is an adult Bullrush and came with that dress on :)

  3. Really fun story, and I love hearing the background story too! More, more, please! xo Jennifer

  4. Suvenkorento Says:

    Cute story! What a wonderful way to meet a new friend :) I love mrs. Moppets fancy tea cups! I love the behind-the-scenes detail, how you were inspired to this story.


Leave a Reply

